Millennium Development Goals (MDGs)

The Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) are eight United Nations objectives that specifically target health, well-being and social sustainability.
The MDGs seek to address the most pressing issues in order to meet the basic needs of the worldÍs poorest. The MDGs represent a global partnership that has grown from the commitments and targets established at the world summits of the 1990s. The MDGs are an agreed set of goals that can be achieved if all actors work together and do their part. Poor countries have pledged to govern better, and invest in their people through health care and education. Rich countries have pledged to support them, through aid, debt relief, and fairer trade. The target date for the goals is the year 2015. The Millennium Development Goals:

  1. Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger
  2. Achieve universal primary education
  3. Promote gender equality and empower women
  4. Reduce child mortality
  5. Improve maternal health
  6. Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases
  7. Ensure environmental sustainability
  8. Develop a global partnership for development

weblink: UN MDGs website

Comments are closed.